Genealogy Bookstore with Hundreds & Hundreds of Genealogy Books for Sale

Sumner County, Tennessee 1786-1833, First Land Grants of.


By: Helen & Tim Marsh, Pub. 2001, 184 pages, soft cover, Index, ISBN #0-89308-744-0.

Sumner County was created in 1786 out of Davidson County. The first major influx of settlers arrived in 1779. It was only the 2nd county created by the State of N.C. in the Cumberland Country.  From Sumner County’s original boundary lines were created in whole or in part the counties of: Cannon, Clay, DeKalb, Jackson, Macon, Pickett, Putnam, Robertson, Rutherford, Smith, Trousdale, and Wilson. These northern counties were subject to the Walker Line, which was the disputed State line between KY. & TN.