Genealogy Bookstore with Hundreds & Hundreds of Genealogy Books for Sale

1790 Census of Kentucky


By: Charles B. Heinemann, Pub. 1938, Revised Reprint 2013, 188 pages, soft cover, Index, ISBN #0-89308-479-4.

In 1790 the present Commonwealth of Kentucky was part of Virginia, although a movement was underway to form a separate state. This resulted in the creation of the Territory of Kentucky in July 1790, and Kentucky was formally admitted to the Union in 1792. The census was to begin in August 1790, and when it was completed, the returns were sent to Washington. During the War of 1812, the census of Kentucky was destroyed. The material this (reconstructed) census is based on are the personal property tax lists in the Kentucky Historical Society. The tax lists used in compiling this book were: Bourbon 1790, Fayette 1787, 1788 and 1789, Jefferson 1789, Lincoln 1790, Madison 1789, Mason 1790, Mercer 1789, Nelson 1792, and Woodford 1790. This book contains the names of approximately 9,500 persons found in these tax lists